Madhabi Puri appointed as new chairperson of SEBI

Madhabi Puri Buch has been appointed as the new chairperson of market regulator SEBI. She is the first woman chairperson of the Securities and Exchange Board of India.

Buch is the former head of ICICI Securities, also served in SEBI as a Whole Time Member.

The IIM-Ahmedabad alumna will also be the youngest SEBI chief.

She will replace Ajay Tyagi as his term ends on 28th Feb 2022.

Points to Note:

  • Founded: 12 April 1992
  • Headquarters: Mumbai, Maharashtra
  • Subsidiary: National Securities Depository Limited
  • New Chairperson – Madhabi Puri Buch (also the first woman chairperson of SEBI) – replaces Ajay Tyagi


Click here for Current Affairs for government exams


Related posts

Leave a Comment